Board of Directors | The Arc of DC

Board of Directors

Sylvia R. Benatti, Ed.D.
Dr. Benatti joined the Board in 2011. Dr. Benatti brings more than twenty years of experience as a nonprofit professional in leadership roles and seven years in academia focused on professional development in the non-profit sector. She brings a wealth of expertise in the areas of leadership development, team building, networking, project management and board development. Dr. Benatti graduated Magna Cum Laude, with Honors from Mount Vernon College and attained her doctorate from NOVA Southeastern University.

Adam Maier
Mr. Maier joined the Board in 2011. He has over 26 years of experience overseeing the operations of thirteen human service and public works government agencies. Mr. Maier is a proven leader and change agent with extensive experience at the Council of the District of Columbia in government administration including policy development, financial management, legislative drafting, and executive agency liaison. Mr. Maier also served as Executive Director for Independent Living for the Handicapped, Inc. where he managed a program that led to the ILH opening of the District’s first apartment building specifically designed for mentally alert adults with severe physical disabilities. Mr. Maier graduated with honors from the University of Maryland with a degree in Public Administration and Philosophy.

Mr. Langdon D. Hample,
Vice President 
Mr. Hample is the founder and managing partner of Congressional Commercial, LLC a full service commercial real estate and hospitality company company headquartered in Washington, D.C. Mr. Hample is responsible for the company’s growth, strategy, acquisition, financing, and asset management. Prior to founding Congressional in 2007, Mr. Hample worked for various, investment and development firms in Washington, D.C. with a focus on commercial real estate and development. Mr. Hample holds a B.A. from the Maxwell School of Citizenship at Syracuse University and is married with two children.  He has been an active member of the board since 2013.